FIRST TIME POSTING BMI 60

paflyersgal
on 4/28/15 6:30 am
VSG on 10/06/15

Hello ! I am just starting out myself. I'm not sure what your time frame will look like. I called my insurance company and they emailed me the insert from the handbook. It stated in there that I had to be under a 6 month supervised diet with a nutritionist. The center where I am getting my WLS done at takes care of everything in that one office. So I don't have to drive all over the place. I'd imagine that most offices are like this as well, at least I hope they would be! Good luck to you! I look forward to hearing about your journey and sharing achievements and goal with you along the way!

Karen

newdawnh
on 4/28/15 8:06 am
VSG on 06/16/15

my starting bmi was 53 and I did not have to do the 6 month wl but I did show proof that I have been on several wl programs that failed me or should I say I failed. It probably just depends on your insurance

GeekMonster, Insolent Hag
on 4/28/15 8:35 am - CA
VSG on 12/19/13

Every insurance plan is different.  Some companies have exclusions in their policies and don't cover bariatric surgery.  You have to call the number on the back of your insurance card and speak to them directly.   Don't rely on your surgeon's office to give you the correct information.  Sometimes they're wrong.

My plan required six months of a supervised weight loss program.  My BMI was over 70 and it was still a condition of qualifying for surgery.  

Many insurance companies hope that people will give up and not pursue surgery so they require these supervised diet requirements.  Not all insurance companies do, but as I said, the only way to find out is to call your insurance directly and ask what are their requirements to qualify.

Good luck!

"Oderint Dum Metuant"    Discover the joys of the Five Day Meat Test!

Height:  5'-7"  HW: 449  SW: 392  GW: 179  CW: 220

T Hagalicious Rebel
Brown

on 4/28/15 10:56 am - Brooklyn
VSG on 04/25/14 with