Feeling stuck and REALLY need some help

Doingrightin2015
on 9/17/15 2:57 am
RNY on 03/10/15

I would say try to cut your carb intake down f you want to try to drop a few pounds prior to surgery. I think you will be fine like the others say. I know for me,,eating carbs get me everytime!!!

Doingitright2015

HW in life 282 HW265 at start SW 244 CW170

aesposito
on 9/17/15 7:11 am

The quest bars are killing your efforts, IMHO.  The bread and the pasta don't help of course, but looking at those bar stats, it jumps out at me.  You could eat a few scrambled eggs and get the same protein without the carbs/chemicals.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

Dcgirl
on 9/17/15 8:06 am - DC
RNY on 12/16/13

I also feared "will I be the one person this does not work for?".  I think that's a natural fear.  I did not lose weight prior to surgery - in fact, I GAINED weight because I kept having these crazy food funerals.  However, my doctor required a two week liquid diet before surgery, to shrink my liver, and I lost 12 lbs in those two weeks.  Also, it got my head in the game to be on liquids after RNY.

You will lose weight after RNY.  Your stomach is so small that you can't not lose weight.  And if you follow your surgeon's plan and eat high protein, dense foods, you will do great.  The hardest part is 18+ months after surgery when your stomach is a bit bigger, willpower is slightly diminished, and you find you can eat pretty much most foods.  Maintenance is a *****!  Not to discourage you in the least, as I went from 351 day of surgery to 160 now, and feel like I am finally living my life!  I just encourage you to get surgery, follow your plan, take advantage of the honeymoon phase (12-18 months after RNY) and make great life changes!  I don't regret it for a second.  Don't be discouraged - be encouraged that your life is going to BEGIN!

floweringgemini