LRNY 4/30... Slow weight loss normal??

tina_trevino
on 5/11/09 3:21 pm - houston, TX
Hi, everyone!  I am a newbie here, so I spologize for any rules I may be ignorantly breaking in this post.  I had laproscopic RNY on April 30th.  I am almost 2 weeks out and I feel... normal? A little tired.  I can take in quite a bit, although I do find myself ALMOST taking gulps of whatever I drink, out of habit, and if I swallow too much it does hurt.  I am HUNGRY.. OMG am I hungry.  I am still suppose to be on a liquid diet until my post-op appt on Weds.  But I ate half a filet of baked fish yesterday.  I stopped myself..but didn't get any physical warnings.  Today I ate 6 round crackers with a bit of pb between them, 3 "sandwiches" total.  I don't feel like I have anything in my tummy.  I try to drink my protein, atleast 40-50g a day, but it's getting tough to get those shakes in, they taste crappy now.. I weighed 273 the night before my surgery and today, 12 days out, I have lost 11lbs.  It seems like the scale is baaarely moving!  I am in touch with a girl who had surgery 2 days before me and she has lost 21lbs... aaand she is also eating crazy stuff like baked potato with butter and cheese and chicken strips. I eat everything right, until the past 2 days like I mentioned.  I walk everyday, 30 mins around the neighborhood, which is sufficient for me at my pretty much non-existent fitness level.  Is this normal?  I am probably just overreacting, but I'm quite frustrated and very concerned that I may have done all this for nothing.  Also my hubby's scheduled for his surgery on 6/11,,  Any input would be soooo wonderful- did anyone have slow initial weight-loss? 
1Chica
on 5/14/09 5:19 am

Hi Tina!
I too am a newbie and don't know what the rules are either and don't know the lingo either.
CONGRATULATIONS! on your choice to LapBand yourself.  I too had it done on 4/16 and today I am 4 weeks post op.