Newbie here

Anita D.
on 10/21/08 3:05 am - Huntsville, AL
Hi, everyone.  I've been lurking for a while, but have decided that I really need support right now.  I'm scheduled for RNY on Nov. 10, but my surgeon has had me on a liquid diet for several months.  I haven't been really good at it, the weekends are a bear, and I've cheated quite a bit, but now I'm really trying to lose the last 20 lbs before my date.  He wanted me to lose a good bit on my own, and so far I've lost around 45 lbs.  I'm on OptiFast 800, and it's going ok right now.  Not even tempted to cheat because he's threatened to reschedule my surgery if I don't lose all the weight he wants me to.   Anyone else on a liquid diet before WLS?
teanonna
on 10/21/08 7:15 am, edited 10/21/08 7:15 am - Butlerville, IN
Hi Anita

I am fairly new to this too. MY date is 11/18. I am scared, excited, worried, and happy all at the same time. I am on a high protein, lo carb. diet. But not liquid. I am also having a RNY. I have met some really nice people on here. Don't worry there are lots of people to talk to on here. We are all in this together. We have one goal in mind. Loosing the weight. Take care and have a great evening.

Teanonna
boobrajean2008
on 10/21/08 11:48 am - ravenna, OH
welcome, we are all in this together, so welcome again and Good luck keep me posted
Darlene E.
on 10/22/08 5:14 am - Harrow, Canada
Hi Nene,

We have the same date!
I don't think my doctor requires a liquid diet before surgery, but I know many do.   I'm going Monday for my pre-op and I'm going to ask if I can do a week before the surgery. I figure it would help me lose a few pounds.
The doctor had said he'd like us (there was a room full of patients) to lose some weight to help shrink the liver. That way it can be done lapriscopicly. If we don't, it may have to done open.