Hi--I just want to introduce myself and meet y'all!

CandaceHasCurves
on 7/26/09 4:44 am - Alexandria, VA
Hi everyone!
My name is Candace, I'm not only new to this board--I'm new to DC. :)

I moved out here form Idaho in Feb; I'm a full-time Mom to an awesome 5-year old boy.

I'm super-curious about how to get started with this weightloss surgery? I finally reached the point in the last few months that I realized this weight isn't ever going to come off without surgery. I have done The Zone, South Beach, Body Bugg, Weigh****chers, Six Week BodyMakeover, phentermine...you name it. I might drop 30lbs, but it comes back with backup.

All the different methods of surgery--in addition to finding a doctor and going through the hoops for the insurance--just feels so overwelming to me. Can someone please help a girl out and shed some light on where to start?

Who are the doctors worth seeing?

What are the "best" surgery options? What goes in to picking one technique over another? And what are the "mini" and the "sleave"?

I am 259/5'8" sz 20-22/2x-3x...

Does anyone know if surgery is effective if you have PCOS?

I'm looking forward to meeting y'all and learning about the options here...Something tells me DC/Virginia is a much better place to have surgery than Idaho would have been..:)

Thanks!
C
Nikki C.
on 8/7/09 1:55 am - Gaithersburg, MD
Hi Candace it was nice to come across your post.  I would like to share my experiences with regarding WLS and my venture.  I started back in 2008 with RNY consults only to be denies.  FOR YEARS I thought about it and was glad I didn't do it based on the results of many of my friends who had this type of procedure.  All the while going up and down in weight by 40-60lbs each time.