Three Years Post-op with pictures. (Long)

Lisa O.
on 11/14/11 7:15 am - Snoqualmie, WA

November 10th was my 3 year Surgiversary!  I can't believe it's been three years because I'm still learning everyday about food addiction, living with my gastric band and what it's like to live life without the physical barriers related to morbid obesity. 

For those of you who don't know me,  I started this journey weighing 330 lbs.  Here I am with my wonderful DH.  We just celebrated our 4 year wedding anniversary!

Meeting my DH made me want to change my life.  We had plans and I wanted to be able to fully participate in the life we started together so I went to the surgical WL seminar and had Lap band surgery on November 10, 2008.

I lost 115 lbs in the first year following a very strict diet, 800-1000 calories a day.  No bread, no rice, no pasta, and very little refined sugars.  I followed the rules and the fear of losing my new tool and ruining this awesome opportunity kept me on the straight and narrow.  I didn't exercise much, but I walked some, did Curves and made several other changes in my daily life like parking further away, walking up the escalator instead of riding, etc.  I was pretty physically limited in the beginning because of terrible foot and knee pain, but I did what I could and focused on eating 3 meals a day with one planned evening snack.  I drank 60+ oz of zero calorie beverages, (planned carefully between meals), and gave up soda...but not coffee.  Sorry, I'm human!