Protein SHakes

Sabrina T.
on 10/3/11 6:21 am - Orillia, Canada
Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie on here, my surgery is scheduled for November 8th!  YAY!!!
I havea question regarding protein shakes.  Which brand do you all recommend for after surgery?  I have heard of people getting free samples to try them out but are we able to get any free samples here in Canada? 

Looking forward to your responses!

Sabrina
tango123
on 10/3/11 6:35 am
Popeyes will let you try what they have in store. When I was there I must have tried 20 of them and finally found the one I liked.
PatXYZ
on 10/3/11 7:05 am
GNC will let you return anything you don't like within 30 days, so I like using them. They have a lot of whey protein shakes that are low carb and have lots of delicious flavours (chocolate peanut butter!). My favourite is a brand you can only get in the US, Nature's Best, because it is a shake and multi-vitamin in one. Also, if you buy the Gold Card and buy on sales (they also have some vitamins) you can get pretty good prices.
SandpaperSandy
on 10/3/11 7:53 am - Kitchener, Canada
Do yourself a favor and wait until AFTER your surgery to do any taste testing.

Some patients have found that their taste buds change post surgery. 

Diminishing Dawn
on 10/3/11 8:34 am - Windsor, Canada
Be sure to check into your surgical center guide lines about protein shakes. some surgical centers prefer that you do not do shakes but rather that you get all your nourishment through food. As well some have specific guidelines about sugar, protein and calories so be sure to check into your surgical center . There are some shakes with vitamins but some surgical centers do not want you to do-- some prefer that vitamins are separate. Every facility seems to have different rules.

17+ years post op RNY. first year blog here or My LongTimer blog. Tummy Tuck Dr. Matic 2014 -Ohip funded panni Windsor WLS support group.message me anytime!
HW:290 LW:139 RW: 167 CW: 139

Brandy S.