VSG questions

mp2003
on 6/15/11 1:14 am
Hello, I was wondering if anyone could tell me how long it took them to get back to work/school after surgery. I am about to start nursing school in late aug and am considering having the VSG done. since I am self pay I can have it done pretty quickly.  Also anyone have regrets wishing they would have done a different surgery? or not at all?I have my consult a week from today and I'm just a little scared of having a vital organ mostly removed lol 

also i know i will prob have to do a pre op diet, any product recommendations?

thanks!! look forward to your responses
Paige V.
on 6/18/11 11:49 pm - Gainesville, FL
first off, congrats on nursing school! I am a nurse and graduated in 2007. I have not have the surgery (but if you are getting the sleeve you are in the wrong room lol- I am getting the sleeve as well and stopped in here because my Mom had the VBG) Anyway- from what I hear, for heavy lifting you need to be out one month (thats how long I will be taking off from my job as a pediatric RN). However, the first SEVERAL weeks you will not be doing clinicals (I have never heard of a school that immediately does clinicals) so you should be cool to go to school about 2 weeks after surgery. Thats just my opinion and you will def want to ask the doctor. Good luck! =) 
mp2003
on 6/19/11 3:51 pm
thanks for the reply yeah i notice some how i went to the wrong page!  well classes start Aug 27 and we are suppose to start clinical right after labor day. guess they don't wanna beat around the bush! lol i really hope i can get this done soon! thanks again for the response!
Lisalean4sure
on 7/7/11 6:31 am - San jose, CA
 Hi there~