Splenda, Agave Necter or WHAT?????!!!!

Claws253
on 2/18/13 10:23 am - Princeton, WV
I haven't been on here in a while...and I need your guys advice. I have been using Splenda since my RNY in Dec 2008. I love love love it..use it in and on everything. Well, I've been researching allot on it and it's saying it can cause weight gain, memory loss and etc. So, I bought some Agave Necter....Its has 60 cals, 16 grams of carbs and 16 sugars per TBLS!!!!!!! I understand it's natural...but my goodness!!!! I would love to hear from all you guys which one you use. I'm so confused at this point I don't know what to do....:( :( :( please help me..

Horses are Gods apology for men.

bibette1
on 2/18/13 10:43 am
RNY on 09/08/14

Have you tried Truvia?  It's made from stevia, and is natural as well as calorie free!  I recently heard of Nectress, but have not tried it yet!  Good Luck!

mnmommaof2
on 2/18/13 10:50 pm
VSG on 11/23/12

I use SweetLeaf Stevia...  it has 0 cals, 0 carbs, 0 everything!  Truvia is good in a pinch but it has 0 cals and 3 carbs per packet.  Stevia is awesome.... it comes in packets or in liquid form.  There are a ton of flavored liquid Stevia too-- great for coffee!  As far as sweetner goes it's your best option.

Highest weight 279.8

Surgery weight 268 

chris_ruff
on 2/18/13 11:04 pm
RNY on 04/07/09 with

this is a tricky one! i've been researching it too. what i've found is that splenda, nectresse and truvia, and, in fact, most stevia products all contain chemicals. this is neither good nor bad, but just a personal decision if you want to ingest them. i do sometimes and haven't had any problems from them. the only natural stevia is raw stevia and should be brown in color, not white. i've found it hard to locate purely raw stevia, as it is normally cut with something (hence, truvia). 

the scoop on agave nectar is that it's not the miracle sweetener it was once thought to be. it actually doesn't have that low of a glycemic index.