Vitamin D

LeighAnne89
on 3/10/13 2:24 pm - KY

How much vitamin D should we get in daily after having wls?

jay_dee_767
on 3/10/13 10:32 pm - Canada

2000 units twice a day with calcium

Referral Recieved November 13/12  Orientation Nov.19/12 meet Dr.Klein and NUT Nov .26/12  , Meet the social worker and RN on Dec. 6/12 ,DR.Glazer Dec.13/12 Meet Dr.Klein and pick up optifast Jan.16th 2013 Patts Feb.19th,2013, Surgery March 5th,2013

poet_kelly
on 3/10/13 11:14 pm - OH

That is a really low dose for someone with RNY.  Also vitamin D does not need to be taken with calcium.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jay_dee_767
on 3/11/13 10:20 am - Canada

This comes from my surgeons office and registered dietian, also I am in Canada so it maybe different!!!

Referral Recieved November 13/12  Orientation Nov.19/12 meet Dr.Klein and NUT Nov .26/12  , Meet the social worker and RN on Dec. 6/12 ,DR.Glazer Dec.13/12 Meet Dr.Klein and pick up optifast Jan.16th 2013 Patts Feb.19th,2013, Surgery March 5th,2013

MsBatt
on 3/11/13 11:20 am

No, Canadians are the same species as Americans. (*grin*)

Seriously---surgeons are trained to cut and sew. Most of them are taught next to nothing about the nutritional needs of NON-ops, much less those of WLS patients. Registered dieticians rarely know much about WLS patients, either.

Most calcium tablets do contain D and magnesium, as these aid in the absorption of calcium. But---rarely do they contain enough of these for even 'normal' people. After WLS---well, after RNY and DS---malabsorption means we need a LOT more.

poet_kelly
on 3/12/13 1:21 am - OH