First appointment approaching

floweringgemini
on 3/10/15 10:04 pm - Rocky Point, NC

Hi all,

I have been researching and contemplating this for a couple years now. After so many failed attempts at weight loss and maintenance I have decided this is the best way to go. I know this does not solve whatever caused the eating excessively to go away but I am confident that it will help a lot and knowing that I can hurt myself by over indulging will be enough to not do it, cause really who wants to be in pain? That is one major reason I want to do this. Every morning I get out of bed and feel like I am over a 100 years old from the pain that I suffer. My back hurts when I wash dishes or stand for too long. I am currently at 285 and wear a size 20. I gained a hundred pounds when I got pregnant over 8 years ago and I have not been able to get rid of it (depression and food therapy did not help). I have read the good the bad and the ugly of the gastric bypass and I am ready for whatever the end results will be. Some things that I look forward to are being able to jump, I cant do that now. Skip or play hopscotch, cant do those things either and I want my son to be able to really hug me. I am also scared of the outcome because I am pretty sure that I will change not only physically but mentally as well. Inside I have always had this healthy person dying to come out and I have very low self esteem and confidence. So I am guessing that it will be at least 6 months before I can have the surgery because of insurance. Any advice tips or support from the experienced would be great. Like is there a way to speed up the process?

Kathy S.
on 3/11/15 1:49 am - InTheBurbs, XX
RNY on 08/29/04 with

Welcome to ObesityHelp!  We are glad that you have joined our OH community.