Kelly - Vitamin D3 Dosage Question

Kat Kat
on 6/5/12 5:15 pm, edited 6/5/12 5:16 pm - AZ
Hi Kelly,

My Vitamin D Labs came back low (26.5). I've read enough posts here to know that dry D3 is what I'll need to take. The doctor advised me to take 5,000 IU, but I think from what I've read that might not be enough to get me back on track soon. Please advise..................

Oh, and one other question, can Vit D being too low cause fatigue?

Kat

poet_kelly
on 6/5/12 6:47 pm - OH
Yes, low D can cause fatigue, although that is more likely to be caused by low iron or  B12.

What many of us here have done was take 50,000 IU D3 daily for a month or so, then get tested again.  Most RNY folks need at least 10,000 IU D3 a day to maintain a good level (at least 80), though a few people do OK on just 5000 IU a day.  So I agree with you, 5000 IU won't be enough to get you back on track soon.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Kat Kat
on 6/5/12 9:46 pm, edited 6/5/12 9:56 pm - AZ
Thanks Kelly. I'll stop and get some tonight. Although my labs for B-12 and Iron were okay, I'll run those numbers by you later in case you think they should be higer.

deborahgalek31
on 6/5/12 7:31 pm
poet_kelly
on 6/5/12 7:35 pm - OH
Can I ask what your D level was back in April?  I'm interested in how much D3 post ops need to maintain a good level.

I'm also wondering if you have a source for the statement that taking low doses of D3 more times throughout the day makes you more likely to absorb what you need.  It's been my understanding that we can absorb large amounts of D3 at one time, so if that is not correct, I want to know.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly