Swallowed a cherry pit

sniffles722002
on 7/28/12 12:09 pm - Puyallup, WA
Am a bit freaked out. I accidentally swallowed a cherry pit. Hoping it will go through ok. Anyone else do this?  How did everything turn out?

Zeigled
on 7/28/12 12:22 pm - Parkton, MD
Oh no, you're going to grow a cherry tree in your stomach  ...   just kidding.  I think as long as it doesn't get stuck, you don't feel pain, etc.  It should pass through.  I swallow lemon seeds (much smaller) fairly often from my iced tea and have not had any issues.

HW 357 SW 341   

RonSudol
on 7/28/12 12:22 pm - NJ
are cherry pits on your Nuts Plan?

---------------(Starting Weight - 365) ------------ (Current Weight - 165) ------------    

poet_kelly
on 7/28/12 12:29 pm - OH

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/28/12 12:25 pm, edited 7/28/12 1:15 am - OH
Someone did this earlier this week (or last weekend) and posted about it. Although it isn't good for anyone to swallow cherry pits, unless you are very early out (in which case, you shouldn't be eating cherries at all!) your stoma is big enough to allow a small cherry pit to pass through.

I am 50 years old and have been eating cherries most of my life and even as a child I do not remember swallowing a pit, so it surprises me to see two posts in one week about people swallowing pits especially since RNYers are supposed to chew everything to mush before swallowing...

Lora
Edited to fix stupid iPad autocorrect... Sorry for the sentence that was almost gibberish!

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

mat0174
on 7/28/12 12:27 pm