Steroid Injections

Pam211
on 1/8/13 9:21 pm - Lexington-Fayette, KY

I suffer with bursitis and degenerative joint disease of the lumbar spine. The only treatment other than physical therapy is steroid injections. My bariatric surgeon says that I can't have injections, but my primary care doesn't understand this, as the medicine is not going into my stomach.  Just curious if this is my surgeon being "overly cautious", or if this is across the board in bariatrics.

Megan K.
on 1/8/13 9:29 pm
RNY on 02/18/13

I was told by my surgeon that they were ok to use post-op; just not NSAIDS.

poet_kelly
on 1/8/13 9:40 pm - OH

Why does your surgeon recommend against steroids?  RNY patients are usually told to avoid NSAIDS, but steroids are usually considered fine.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

stoney5150
on 1/8/13 9:50 pm
RNY on 03/26/12

I've had two spinal injections since my surgery with no problems. No concerns from my docs either. Better those than surgery at this point and time.

MrsLitch
on 1/8/13 10:10 pm - Morris, IL
RNY on 06/04/12

I have bursitis in my hip since surgery I had a steroid injection. Talking to my ortho and surgeon they both said no nsaids but the steroid injection would be fine. I'd ask the surgeon why he feels you can't have steroids. You can't have nsaids even in an injection as the nsaid thins the stomach lining by entering the blood stream not by going into the stomach.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com

5' 3" - HW: 244 SW:234  GW:120 LW: 107 CW:110 Made goal 3/16/13!    

Joyceebaby
on 1/8/13 10:10 pm
RNY on 11/29/12