Nicotine test

MBallard
on 1/16/13 7:47 pm - Fort Bragg, NC
RNY on 02/07/13

Hello All - I am scheduled for surgery on Feb 7th and my surgeons office called and they want me to come in and do a chest xray and some other bloodwork before my surgery.. I have a feeling they will do a nicotine test. I am currently a smoker (don't hate on me please I plan on quitting today actually) but my question was how long does it take for nicotine to leave the bloodstream so that It wont show up on a nicotine test if they give me one?

Surgery date - February 7, 2013

poet_kelly
on 1/16/13 8:00 pm - OH

I'm not sure.  Why not just ask your doctor if he is ordering  a nicotine test and if so, how long in advance you need to quit smoking?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MBallard
on 1/16/13 8:08 pm - Fort Bragg, NC
RNY on 02/07/13

That was my thought exactly, I just wanted to see if anyone here knew how long it takes to exit the bloodstream. (I'm also a little nervous to admit to my doctor that i've been smoking)indecision

poet_kelly
on 1/16/13 8:10 pm - OH

Why are you nervous about admitting that you've been smoking?  Is there some reason your doctor would think you don't smoke?

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MBallard
on 1/16/13 8:13 pm - Fort Bragg, NC
RNY on 02/07/13

I don't want it to push back my surgery date any further, No, he never asked.

poet_kelly
on 1/16/13 8:14 pm - OH