Annual Blood Work Costs

Icomputeit
on 9/11/13 10:17 am

I just visited my surgeon for my annual and he ordered my blood  work.  I was astonished to receive a bill for $1,600 for the blood work prior to the insurance processing.  Just curious, what have others experienced?

poet_kelly
on 9/11/13 10:31 am - OH

Sounds about right to me, for a full set of labs.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

jeterway
on 9/11/13 10:32 am
I'm not surprised at that number. I have been closely monitoring my eons from the insurance company lately and that sounds about right. What is actually paid is a fraction of that amount. I think for a full work up, it was somewhere around 250.

jeterway
on 9/11/13 10:33 am
Ugh - I meant 'eob' not eon or whatever autocorrect put in.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 9/11/13 11:00 am - OH

Some of the tests they do are quite pricey.  My lab charges $400 just for the Vit D test.  Depending on whether they also do a full thyroid panel and a couple of other things not related to my RNY, the billed amount for mine is $1800-$2000.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Icomputeit
on 9/11/13 11:38 am

Thanks everyone for your replies.  I'll wait to see what my insurance pays.  Perhaps, I have not paid much attention in the past.   I can't imagine how people with no insurance can afford blood work.  It reminds me of when stores mark up the price of an item and then sell it for 50% which turns out to be the normal retail price.

ebtiger24
on 9/11/13 8:52 pm - AL
RNY on 12/13/12 with