Band removal

Melanie C.
on 12/22/13 4:29 am

I had my band removed Thursday and I am in so much pain. I dont remember this much pain when I had it placed. They also did a liver biopsy, but I have such a burning sensation in that one area where the incision is. the other ones are great, no pain. I can barely walk. They gave me Percocet but it really just helps me fall asleep for a few hours. If anyone has any ideas I would appreciate it!

poet_kelly
on 12/22/13 5:25 am - OH

If the pain is so severe that Percocet isn't helping, I would call your surgeon.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

QoftheU
on 12/22/13 6:37 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13
I agree - call your doc. I'm 5 days out from band removal and RNY and do not have that kind of pain - just the normal shoulder pain and port-removal pain. Personally, I don't think Percocet does much of anything. I'm on Dilaudid and couldn't imagine anything not as strong to get through this.
Good luck - and keep us posted.

Leslie - Band Revision to RNY - best thing ever!   HW: 234   SW: 222  CW: Ticker  GW: 130

(deactivated member)
on 12/22/13 7:29 am

Hi QoftheU,

I was wondering about the port being removed. I thought it would at the very least ache after having been dug out of th muscle. You are the first person I have read posting about this. Of course, I have rouble keeping track of my own posts, so that is not a big surprise. I will be having the same surgery in February. Tell me more. How long was your surgery?

QoftheU
on 12/22/13 11:16 am - Bay Area/Silicon Valley, CA
Revision on 12/18/13
Hi!