Self-Pay Patients? I have so many questions.

RRach
on 4/7/14 6:08 am

I feel like I have bombarded the boards with questions. I am sorry. I hope I am not getting on anyone's nerves. I am a total newbie. :( 

I am self-pay. I have come up with enough to cover my surgery, hospital costs, and pre-op tests. 

The two things I did not factor into the cost was having a psych eval completed and cardio test. I am having the worst luck finding a psych eval for under $525. That is the LOWEST I could find in Memphis, TN. 

Does anyone know an estimated range I should expect the cardio test thing to be??

I am excited. I don't wait to wait another half a year to get this done. I am miserable being this size. I keep trying and failing. 

I'm currently on a diet to lose lbs and shrink my liver. It was suggested by the Patient Advocate from my doctor's office. 

Shirleyann_43
on 4/7/14 7:11 am

My psy evaluation was that price also but the psy let me do it in payment, also the hosp. will do a charge for some of the test.

Professor Sonja!!!!
on 4/7/14 7:45 am - Miami, FL
RNY on 08/15/12

I saw this as a link above the Obesityhelp site yesterday.  I have no idea if they are for real, licensed, anything.  Please let us know.  $100 Bariatric Psychiatric Evaluations.  Hopefuly it's not a scam. 

Come keep it real in R&R 3.0 Want an invite? PM me here.

Teri Turner
on 4/9/14 7:18 pm - WA

Hi, Sonja..  Not a scam..  They accept insurance or $100 cash (payment plan if needed. Tests administered online, personal evaluation one-on-one.   

Also, you should most certainly ask everyone for a cash pay.   It will amount to thousands.  

The hear exam depends a lot on your health & risk factors.  It may not be more than an EKG or as pricey as a nuclear medicine perfusion scan. 

If you haven't settled on a surgeon, call as many as possible to get cash prices.   I wish you luck.  

Lora R.
on 4/7/14 8:37 am
RNY on 09/12/13