How much fluid, especially long term ?

lomercha
on 7/2/14 4:20 am

Hi,

I am 5 years post RNY. I know in the first year I tracked my fluid religiously. Not so much since then... Recently I have decided that I don't think I am getting enough fluid. (Never had official dehydration issues).

i cannot remember what my fluid goal should be. Also, do you include your protein shakes and decaf coffee in your fluid total.

Thanks, Lorri 

poet_kelly
on 7/2/14 4:53 am - OH

I count all liquids.  Why wouldn't you?

Most doctors seem to recommend 64 oz a day.  The Mayo  Clinic says most people actually need more than that, an average of nine to 13 cups a day.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

JenniPenny
on 7/2/14 5:29 am - MN

Never did protein shakes as per my doc but I do count decaf coffee as part of my liquid iintake for the day. I'm 13 yrs out and still use the 64 ounce minimum as a starting point. I'm active so have always done a bit more. When doing strenuous activities I double the water intake. In other climates (I'm from MN) where it's dryer I up the water even more. In New Mexico doing high desert hiking I did 180 ounces per day (the program minimum). I thought it would be hard but it wasn't and never had a dehydration issue. Here in the summer working outside I always do more than the recommended 64 ounces.

Jen RNY 2001

karenp8
on 7/2/14 6:41 am - Brighton, IL

My doctor says a minimum of 64 ounces but I am active and when the weather is warm here in Illinois I try to do more.

ShrinkingJoe
on 7/3/14 5:54 am