another question from newbee

justwillow
on 5/16/11 9:07 am - OR
My surgery is a day surgery, it sounds like a lot of you had yours in the hospital, anyone else have theirs as a day surgery?

LeeAnn5350
on 5/16/11 9:18 am - Patterson, NY
I am not a medical professional, however that sounds absolutely INSANE to me.  If you are going for the VSG, this is a MAJOR surgery!  Having 80% or more of a major organ removed and stapled up does or should not be considered a "drive thru" service.  I would be running as fast as I could from that Doctors office.

September903
on 5/16/11 9:24 am
Wow! I am astonished. I had a VSG and was approved to be hospitalized for up to four days. They asked if I wanted to be discharged the next afternoon and I opted to stay a second night. If you have an option I would recommend you stay at least one night. Is this their protocol or the insurance?

justwillow
on 5/16/11 9:42 am - OR
no i am a self pay but they do all of them that way unless they have health problems
msletitia
on 5/16/11 9:44 am - Jacksonville, FL
 sometime day surgeries are the same as overnight as long as you don't stay a 24 hour period..example check in at 9 am and discharged at 8..this would be considered a day surgery for some insurances

countrygolden
on 5/16/11 9:46 am - Amboy, WA
 Mine was a day surgery and it was just fine. I was a bit apprehensive about it as well. I went in around 8:00, and was released around 1:00. My husband took me back to our hotel (we went to a doctor out of our area) and he just made sure to wake me every hour to walk and sip. I had no problems whatsoever. However, my doctor did call that evening to see how I was doing.

Starting Weight-228.6, SW-221.4, CW-173 GW-125
mylastchance
on 5/16/11 9:49 am
Not me but I do think someone here had this as outpatient surgery,  they may chime in and have something to say. 

The majority of us stay at least one night and some stay longer.