Friends and their negative comments

naplesmom
on 10/30/12 7:53 am - FL

I am really new to all of this. I just got approved by my insurance and am trying to get the ball rolling. I have only told a few close friends, and of course my immediate family. I couldn't believe it when a really close friend of mine was only concerned about the excess skin I will have after all is said and done !!!   I thought my friend would be more supportive and encouraging, not negative. I am doing this for ME, for my health.....  Does anyone have any suggestion for negative comments that people may make and how I can deal with them?  I guess I just needed to vent......   Thanks for listening...   indecision

Amelia L.
on 11/3/12 10:15 pm
RNY on 08/20/12

Well, the one thing I keep reminding myself is that this is ALL about me and no one else.  Whether or not they support you it will be done and your new life will begin.  I was amazed by the support I received from friends and family but even more by people who didnt even know me from the OH site.  You have friends here that accept you today and pray for great things for your tomorrows.

Blessings!!  Amelia

April M.
on 12/18/12 6:06 pm - Clarksville, TN
RNY on 03/11/13
I would tell her that you don't expect to be a super model. You are doing this for your health. If she can't be supportive then you don't need her in your life. Life is too short to be brought down by negativity. You do what you need to do to get your health under control and concentrate on the positive people in your life. Best of luck.
(deactivated member)
on 12/29/12 9:47 pm - Lower Burrell, PA