Slipping...and getting back on track

Tiffany W
on 11/15/07 11:38 pm - PITTSBURGH, PA
I have started to slip back into some bad habits. I'm snacking on the wrong foods, eating too late in the evening, not getting enough water in, and almost completely abandoning my exercise. I KNOW I need to get back on track. Funny thing is, I had been holding my weight for about 8 months, even through the bad eating days and everything. So I guess my thinking was, 'well, if I'm not gaining weight, then I'm ok'. I know that's not true, but I think there was a part of me that was trying to get away with something - trying to eat some of the same foods, and tempt fate. That's not why I had surgery. During the first 9 months after surgery, I did EVERYTHING by the book. About 1 year out from surgery, around May or June of this year, I noticed I started eating things I hadn't had since before surgery, and I started slacking on water and exercise. It's spiraled a little out of control ever since. I still have good days, but more often I'm eating things I shouldn't and letting go of the goals I promised I would keep. When I stepped on the scale on Monday, I saw I was up 4 pounds. Now, remind you, I had held my weight for 8 months solid - after losing 120 pounds from surgery, I was weighing in at 227.5. Even during these months of slacking off, I maintained that weight. But on Monday, the scale said 231.5. Uh oh! I realized that all of this slacking off is catching up with me. So I'm nipping it in the bud right now! I immediatley started upping my water intake, back to high protein and low carbs, and trying to cut my snacking down to only good-for-me-foods. I'm going to get back to exercising too. My original weight loss goal was to loose 140 pounds, which would put me at 205 - prior to surgery, I was 345. I haven't gone down below 227.5 - that's the weight I held for 8 months. But I would really love to get down to my goal. Now, since I've gained 4 pounds, I have even more to loose to hit